1 Comment

Maintaining the Art-Law Balance, Round III

A few years ago, I wrote two posts on this blog [here and here] about the tendency for my speaking engagements to come in pairs, allowing me to serially exercise my right-brain ‘art’ side and my left-brain ‘law’ side, all the while maintaining my geography ‘centre’. It seems like this pattern is continuing. On the art side, last week I gave a presentation at the Perfect and Absolute Blank symposium at the BALTIC contemporary art museum in Gateshead. The symposium, which was organised by Rona Lee of Northumbria University’s Department of Arts, was timed to coincide with the Fiona Tan exhibit currently on display at BALTIC. The video of my talk, which combines a reflection on Tan’s work with some of my earlier research on ocean mapping, is below.

Videos of the other presentations and panel discussions from the symposium can be found on the Baltic Plus video archive website (unfortunately there’s no single page that just gathers videos from the ‘Perfect and Absolute Blank’ symposium; you need to sift through the archives website to find the various videos from the symposium).

Next month, I’ll be following up with an entirely different art-facing presentation, expanding on elements of the Wet Ontologies / Wet Epistemologies project that I’ve been working on with Kimberley Peters at a seminar for PhD students in the College of Fine Arts at Ohio University.

Shifting gears (and brain hemispheres), in December I’ll be representing IBRU at the London International Boundary Conference, where I’ll be presenting on some of the technical problems that emerge when one attempts to draw international boundaries (and other lines) in the Arctic, a topic that closely tracks the agenda of the ICE LAW Project. This will be followed by a further law-facing presentation in London in February when I join my Durham University Law School colleague Henry Jones in delivering an IBRU seminar on maritime boundary delimitation for employees of the UK’s Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

dfdsApril presents a rare opportunity to bring these two strands of my research together, at the Representations of the (Extra)territorial workshop sponsored by the University of Utrecht School of Law. My plan is to write my paper for this workshop in situ, as I travel to the workshop in the extraterritorial environment of the Newcastle-Amesterdam ferry. It’s a high-risk strategy (I’ll need to be ready with Plan B in case of writer’s block). But, in addition to hopefully resulting in a provocative paper, it reduces my carbon footprint and gets me a night on a party boat. Sounds like a definite improvement over KLM to Schiphol.

One comment on “Maintaining the Art-Law Balance, Round III

  1. Looking forward to watching this. Did you see Trevor Paglen is photographing undersea cables? http://www.newyorker.com/tech/elements/trevor-paglen-plumbs-the-internet-at-metro-pictures-gallery

Leave a Reply

