Where’s Phil? The Tromsø-Tallahassee-Connecticut-New York tour

imagesI’m a little over half-way through three weeks of travel through way too many climates. First, during the last week of January, I attended the Arctic Frontiers conference in Tromsø, Norway, which I blogged about in this post on the Royal Holloway Geopolitics blog. Then I headed ‘directly’ from Tromsø to Tallahassee, Florida, where I packed up my office, met with students, convened the Arctic-Caribbean offshore oil and gas drilling workshop that I’ve been working on for the past year or so with the Canadian consulate, and had a three-day writing retreat to meet with my Arctic co-authors to (almost) finish up our book. This was a follow-up meeting to one that we had in London in December, and I’m happy to report that 7 of 8 chapters are now in final format editing; and chapter 8 is on the horizon, so we’re still on target for a 28 February submission date. Tomorrow (4 February), I’m off to Connecticut, to have some final book caucusing with Adam Keul, as well as to give an invited talk at the University of Connecticut’s maritime studies campus at Avery Point. The tour ends up with a few days of family visits in New York, followed up by a return to London on Monday 11 February.

