3 Comments

Moving to Durham

index

I’m happy to announce that beginning in October 2013 I will take up the post of Professor of Political Geography at Durham University in the UK. Leaving Florida State’s Department of Geography will not be easy (I’ve been there since 1997), but I am truly excited about the opportunities ahead of me.

Not only is the Durham Geography Department enormous (over 60 teaching staff, plus another 40 or so non-teaching academic staff), but it’s also an excellent department that is consistently ranked in the top 5 in the UK (as is Durham University as a whole). As part of my position there, I will have a leading role joining the existing expertise of the Geography Department’s International Boundaries Research Unit with academic research on the changing nature of borders, sovereignty, and territory. Thus, the Durham post provides the perfect opportunity for me to pursue my interests at the intersection of political geography and public international law, particularly in the juridical “frontier” regions such as the ocean, the Arctic, and the universe of electronic communications that have long been a focus of my research. It also will provide me with opportunities to work closely with faculty and graduate students conducting research on related topics such as identities, citizenship, and political movements in border regions; trans-border economic development; border regulation, policing, and “securitization”; and the history of territory as a state ordering practice.

Between now and then, I’ll mostly be based in London, at Royal Holloway, but with occasional trips to Tallahassee, Durham, and other points north and south (but especially north!).

3 comments on “Moving to Durham

  1. […] part of my move to Durham University, the Department of Geography there will be making available two fully funded studentships for […]

  2. […] part of Phil Steinberg’s  move to Durham University, the Department of Geography there will be making available two fully funded studentships for […]

  3. […] of the perks of my new job at Durham is that I’m getting to buy a new computer, something that I badly need because my current MacBook […]

Comments are closed.

